Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Surprise!

1 Comment

On Wednesday afternoon, I went to choir practice as usual, and we practiced a couple of songs as usual. After that, it was most unusual. I did wonder why there were so many folks there who aren’t in choir, and there were some goodies over on a table … turned out to be a surprise birthday party for me! My friends had planned it all, and there was a birthday cake ‘n everything – I was very surprised and touched. I had hoped to have a photo of the cake to post, but my cell phone was the only camera among us, and after wasting too much time fighting it today, we still haven’t managed to download the photos to the computer, so that will have to wait. Thanks everyone!

On the knitting front, I shipped out a deadline project yesterday (hooray!), so that’s done; I’m working on the next one, and I want to work on the Silk Flowers cardi, which is down to the sleeves (short!) and deciding what to do about the front bands. Oh and then I need to swatch some design ideas …

Earlier this week, I decided to make sauerbraten, which we haven’t had in a long time. In case you’ve never made it, it’s a bit of a long-term project, starting with marinating the meat (chuck roast) in a 50/50 mixture of vinegar and water (1 cup each), some bay leaves and peppercorns, a goodish amount of sliced onion, and a little sugar. By placing all this in a freezer bag, and squeezing the air out as you close it, you can easily turn the bag over every day, instead of turning the meat in a bowl of solution, which used to result in sloshed marinade. I’m still using the same dish my mother-in-law used, but the freezer bag makes the whole process much tidier! Sauerbraten-the beginning Now that it’s “aged” for 3 or 4 days, I drained the meat, reserving the marinade, patted it dry, browned it on both sides and cooked it in the marinade like a potroast. It’s currently chilling in the fridge, and I’ll finish it off tomorrow with potato pancakes. I know I’ll be glad I got the shredder attachment for the mixer for that!

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

One thought on “Surprise!

  1. Happy Birthday!
    I’d have been there, had I only known (well, and been able to sneak in a random trip).

Leave a Reply

