Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

A fine mess!

2 Comments

I just went fishing for the inside end of a new ball of yarn, and got this: yarn-oops.jpg Not at all what I wanted, but I wound it all into a smaller center pull ball, stuffed it back into the middle of the original ball, and am knitting again. Win some, lose some, I guess. πŸ˜‰

I am not usually very enthused about purple – greens, teals and blue are more my colors, but I have to say that the more I work with this particular purple [think violet, heathered with a good shot of fuchsia – the photo definitely doesn’t do it justice], the more I think I just might make an exception here … it’s Plymouth Galway Highland Heather #749. Unfortunately the sample sweater I’m making is not my size 😦

We got another 1-3/8″ of rain overnight, which we definitely don’t need right now, although any of it at all would have been lovely last summer, when it was so terribly dry. There’s more rain in the forecast for tomorrow, which is Opening Day for the St. Louis Cardinals, so of course the sports folks are suddenly very obsessed with meteorology. Here’s hoping they get the game in! [Later: They didn’t – it was postponed due to rain!]

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

2 thoughts on “A fine mess!

  1. It’s been raining in the NC Piedmont most of today. Hope the field isn’t soggy for the Cardinals. May flowers, right? πŸ™‚

  2. Hi Joy! Being the least adventurous of commentors, I don’t often put in my 2Β’, but it’s so nice of you to come comment on my blog I thought returning the favor was the least I can do. I see you are also a garden lover – I spent yesterday putting in topsoil and mulch, trimming some things that had gotten a wee bit too enthusiastic in their growth spurt, and making another corner of the garden a visual delight. I think one more trip to the garden store for more mulch, some edging, and a few 1-ft. square pavers, and I should be set! Just one edge to finish mulching, one end of a bed to finish off with the edging, and mulch it all. Then I’ll get to work on my tiny bathroom garden. This one’s a real challenge, as it gets virtually no direct sun – two sides are 7 ft. fence, and the third the wall of the house – it gets a tiny bit of afternoon sun, being in the northwest corner, and is only about 5×6 feet. So I’m planning to get a bit of pea gravel, even things out, and replace the pavers more securely. Then I’ll turn it into a shade garden in containers, so I can move them to the back yard for a bit of sun on occasion.

    Hope your team does well for you – I can never remember which teams play what sport!

Leave a Reply

