Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

A wild pile of knitting needles …

2 Comments

I’ve been very lax lately about putting my knitting needles away when completing projects – well actually, I’ve just been stuffing them into a plastic bag.
needle-bag.jpg When I emptied the bag, it turned into this, needle-pile.jpg
so I think I’d better do a little housekeeping πŸ˜‰

My copy of SpinOff came today! What a visual feast – lots of yummy fiber (*No, the spinning stash doesn’t need more fiber either; keep repeating from * …), and plenty of interesting articles, including an article about Cormo sheep and a really cute baby jacket, both by Margaret Heathman of Margaret’s Yarns. She wrote a neat little book, Knitting Languages, published in 1996, which is really handy for knitting terms in languages other than English. She’s currently working on a second book of knitted snowflakes, which looks very interesting.

I feel like Toby’s been neglected here, but he’s really developed an aversion to the camera – every time he hears the little whirring noise it makes when it’s turned on and the lens extends, he takes off for anywhere else. It may be the flash, but he really doesn’t like that thing! I would love to get a photo one of the times when Maggie just walks up and starts grooming him, but for now, here’s this: toby-maggie_a.jpg Of course you know that’s supposed to be a dog bed, but try telling that to Maggie!

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

2 thoughts on “A wild pile of knitting needles …

  1. Joy, I haven’t been over here in a few days (too busy herding cats) and you’ve been busy. Love the crocuses. Your knitting needle pile reminds me of the tangled laceweight on my bathroom door… I’ll have to get back to that eventually!!

    Nora

  2. Knitting Languages — sounds like a great little book. A great idea, certainly.

    Oh the circular needles! So handy, yet when it comes to storage…. groan!

    Maggie looks pretty cozy in that deluxe “cat” bed.

    The Aged Cat was camera shy too. But as an oldster, he couldn’t move very fast to evade it. I tried to keep it in mind and go easy on him. I realized at some point, though, that his main objection was to the flash. When I stopped using it, he relaxed a lot more.

Leave a Reply

