Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Socking along!

5 Comments

The new sock yarn eventually told me what it wanted to be, and it’s coming along nicely, although my cable needle is practically the same size as the dpns. Being picky finicky that way, 😉 I plan to reverse the cable turns on the 2nd sock. [Added note: I realized this was a little sketchy. Sock is worked on 68 sts, 18 rnds of rib, then beg at right edge, work first 20 sts of chart, work repeat twice = 68 sts. Apart from the pattern stitch, it’s my standard sock “recipe” from Ribbing-Plain & Fancy.]

Cable Rib Sock Cable Rib Sock Chart; ©2008 E. J. Slayton

We went to St. Louis yesterday, and saw some of the flooding on the Meramec River at Highways 21 and 141, where we crossed into St. Louis County. It’s not as bad there as in some other areas, though it will probably get worse as the water moves down toward the Mississippi. It certainly makes me really thankful that we live at the top of a hill!

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

5 thoughts on “Socking along!

  1. Very pretty, Joy! Tell me what the red “markers” are for? Is this your beginning of the round? We still have a lot of water ourselves down here in Ky, and I am not looking for more coming from your way!! lol

  2. Thanks! The beginning of the round is the safety pin at the right side. The red markers are bits of the closest yarn at hand when I was setting up the pattern, and wanted to be sure I was getting the 5 cables placed correctly, in spite of distractions from Himself. As I did this in the car, I didn’t have the option of going into another room 😉

  3. Hello, beautiful socks! Thank you so much for the nice comment you left on my blog. Hope you have a nice day 🙂

  4. I was wondering how you were getting along with the flooding out there. Glad to hear you’re on a hilltop!

  5. Ooooo, like these soxs, Joy. I’ve knitted over
    30+ pairs of soxs now and I think 90% or
    more are the standard pattern in your
    sock booklet. gloria

Leave a Reply

