Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Joyknits 2011 in Review – Pt. 1

4 Comments

I love Vicki’s Year in Review idea (first sentence of the first post of each month, plus a favorite photo), so thought I’d try it too. When the photo isn’t from the same post, it does create some really odd disconnects ;)

January

We took our usual Christmas trip to Kansas City to visit our daughters and their families and had a great time.

Sausage soup - great for cold weather!

ETA: Link to soup recipe here!

February

The Blizzard of 2011 has been THE news for the last several days; whether or not it lives up to its advance billing remains to be seen, but at least it sounds like a lot of folks have taken it seriously and prepared to hunker down for a while.

Ready for my close up ...

March

This pair of socks is coming along very quickly—I already have several inches of the 2nd cuff completed.

April

I finished spinning the BFL “Evil Jeanius” singles recently (24 oz). I still haven’t plied it yet …

Mary & Diane with Uncle George.

May

The florist’s van pulled into the driveway today and brought me this pretty planter:

My grandmother with Aunt Peg (l) and Mom (r) ca 1926.

June

Our oldest granddaughter, Samantha, was married last weekend [ETA: She just reminded me that the wedding was in May, even though I didn't post about it until June ;) ]. Not that I’m prejudiced or anything ;) but the bride was beautiful, the groom handsome, and everything was simply lovely!

Grandfather of the bride.

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

4 thoughts on “Joyknits 2011 in Review – Pt. 1

  1. So cool, girl. Are you done baking yet???????

  2. How fun! Your January’s soup has me salivating. :D

  3. It’s fun to walk down memory lane via the blog. We’ll be making Sausage soup soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers