Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Yay!

7 Comments

Last week, we got floor joists and today they finished putting down the subfloor, so we can use the door from the living room for the first time since last October (almost 9 months, but who’s counting). While the photo isn’t much, it’s the first sunset from the new space. There’s 1 wall laying on the floor at one end, and I hope to see it go up tomorrow. While Toby has not been happy about all the banging, he was ready to go out and look things over, and walk down a board to the yard.

Loosely inspired by a recipe for Southwest Black Bean & Corn Dip that I saw recently on Dine & Dish blog, I looked for the Pace salsa she used. When I couldn’t find it, I got Sam’s Choice Southwest Black Bean & Corn Salsa instead and fixed an unbaked adaptation, starting with a layer of softened cream cheese, topped with the salsa, green olives and capers (alcaparrado), chopped lettuce, tomatoes and grated cheese. This dish and an accompanying bag of chips were a big hit at Circle meeting – hardly any left at all, but I still want to try the full version, just not when we’re having 11 straight days of upper 90′s!

Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

7 thoughts on “Yay!

  1. It’s always the simple things, isn’t it?

  2. Yum. That Sam’s Choice salsa is not bad at all!

  3. I’ve used the Sam’s version as well and it is great!
    Love that you didn’t bake this version. Looks amazing!

  4. Hooray for floors! We’re hoping that the hardwood guys show up again today to sand some more- that would make 5 days in a row, and a new tradesperson record on our project! If all goes well, we’ll be back on the main floor in a week and a half.

    I wish we had somewhere in our house from which we could see a sunset. Instead, we have flourescent palm trees on the neighbor’s deck. I suppose I could look the other way and get a sunrise, but that’s way too early for me. (except in December and January)

  5. Yeah for progress! I’m trying to convince Texas he needs to build me a little “cottage” for my girlie stuff. But alas, he’s all about fixing the fish shack first – which I think just needs to be knocked down. :D

  6. Whoo-who for Progress!!!!!!

  7. Great that there is a quantum leap on the construction!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers