Joyknits!

Knitting, spinning, pets, food and other thoughts

Leftovers

4 Comments

We’re still working on that huge turkey – I commented that I was considering getting a slightly smaller bird next year (perhaps a mere 18# instead of 22#?) but Himself didn’t seem too keen on that idea, so he’d better not fuss about eating turkey soup, turkey and gravy, turkey casserole …

Turkey SoupI seem to be the only one working on the leftover pecan pie, fortunately it keeps pretty well. Just add whipped cream. :)Chocolate Kahlua Pecan Pie

The weather’s currently got the construction project stalled – next step is to pour the basement floor, and there haven’t been enough warmer days in a row to do it. It doesn’t help that we got a late start because it kept raining. (/whine)

Knitting is mostly for a deadline project, but I have been spinning some nice Border Leicester roving that’s aged in the stash for a couple of years. No specific project in mind yet – I guess I’ll see what it wants to be.

Border Leicester Roving

Border Leicester singles

I was poking around YouTube (looking for a particular Christmas song, but haven’t found a version I like yet), but I did find To Morrow, an old Kingston Trio number, and the scary thing is that I remember most of the lyrics, which are a bit of a brain twister.

Friday Evening Sky

Friday Evening Sky


Author: joyknits

Knitter, designer, tech editor, spinner sharing a home in the Missouri Ozarks with my husband (53 years and counting), 1 dog, 2 cats, and way too much stash!

4 thoughts on “Leftovers

  1. Have you ever tried turkey tetrazini? Yum! I’ve also done turkey and cheese enchiladas. There are tons of things you can do to not be so sick of it..

  2. Boy. Did that song bring back memories;–) And, turkey shepherd’s pie is excellent as well.

  3. lovely sky!
    we’re almost out of turkey…
    except for the two meat filled bits of turkey stock that I’ve got stashed in the freezer to make soup with.
    Almost…
    But the rest of the leftovers are gone.

  4. Today at the airport I had a nice tasty salad with cubed turkey, bacon bits, tomatoes and ranch dressing on romaine. Sort of a turkey club salad. I know I want it again. :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers